A n00b attempts Sourdough and Reports

January 4, 2010

The fluffiest and easiest kneading

Filed under: Uncategorized — alie0bronwynn @ 4:45 am

Ok, once upon a time I wanted to make bread and forgot to do the barm the previous night.  So, I looked up a bread recipe that didn’t require the barm for overnight – it was White Levin from The Handmade Loaf.  While it looked standard, it had a CRAZY kneading schedule.  I mean, up until now I did the 15 minutes of kneading and that’s it.  Here’s the schedule in my words.

Dough has been made – transfer to lightly floured cutting board.  Knead for 15 seconds (yeah, that’s right).  Let sit for 10 minutes.

In the meantime clean out your bowl, and put a fine mist of oil in it.

Knead dough for 15 (I know, I know – awesome, right?).  Put it into the bowl, let rest for 10 minutes. (I like to cover it in a mist of oil and then plastic).

Pull dough out, knead for 15 seconds.  Put back into bowl, mist with oil, cover with plastic, let rest for 30 minutes.

Pull dough out, knead for 15 seconds.  Put back into bowl, mist with oil, cover with plastic, let rest for 1 hour.

Pull dough out, knead for 15 seconds.  Put back into bowl, mist with oil, cover with plastic, let rest for 2 hours.

After this, your dough should have doubled since the initial batch and is ready for shaping and it’s second rise.

Now – this is time heavy in terms of keeping track, but I love not wearing my arms out with kneading AND the extra bonus is with this method my dough has been it’s MOST fluffy and well risen.  So, proof is in the pudding.  Or the dough in this case.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

